Thursday, September 27, 2018

Ordinance cleared to set up committee to run MCI until Parliament passes NMC

Just like it was 5 years back, a Board of Governors has taken over the MCI. Dr VK Paul has taken charge of MCI today evening.

The present MCI gets dissolved with immediate effect.

Proposed NMC is in Parliament and has nothing to do with present ordinance.

The ordinance is as below:

The Gazette of India
New Delhi, Wednesday, September 26, 2018/Asvin 4, 1940 (Saka)

(Legislative Department)

New Delhi, the 26th September. 2018/4svina 4, 1940 (Saka)


No. 8 of 2018

Promulgated by the President in the Sixty-ninth Year of the Republic of India.

An Ordinance further to amend the Indian Medical Council Act. 1956.

WHEREAS Parliament is not in session and the President is satisfied that circumstances exist which render it necessary for him to take immediate action;

NOW, THEREFORE, in exercise of the powers conferred by clause (1) of article 123 of the Constitution, the President is pleased to promulgate the following Ordinance:-

1. (1) This Ordinance may be called the Indian Medical Council (Amendment) Ordinance, 2018.
(2) It shall come into force at once.

2. In section 3A of the Indian Medical Council Act, 1956,- --

(a) in sub-section (I), for the words, brackets and figures "Indian Medical Council (Amendment) Act. 2010", the words, brackets and figures "Indian Medical Council (Amendment) Ordinance, 2018" shall be substituted;

(b) in sub-section (2), for the words "three years", the words "one year" shall be substituted;

(c) in sub-section (4), for the words "and medical education", the words "and medical education or proven administrative capacity and experience" shall be substituted;

(d) after sub-section (7), the following sub-section shall be inserted, namely: — "
(7A) The Board of Governors shall be assisted by a Secretary General who shall be appointed by the Central Government on deputation or contract basis and he shall be the head of the secretariat in the Council.".


Secretary to the Govt. of India

(To be published in the Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part – II, Section 3, Subsection (ii)]

(Department of Health and Family Welfare)
New Delhi, the 26th September, 2018-09-26

S.O. – Whereas the President promulgated the Indian Medical Council (Amendment) Ordinance, 2018 (Ordinance 8 of 2018) on 26th September, 2018, which came into force on the said date;

And whereas, on and from the date of commencement of Indian Medical Council (Amendment) Ordinance, 2018 (Ordinance 8 of 2018), the Medical Council of India shall stand superseded and teh President, Vice President adn other Members of the Council shall vacate their office and shall have no claim for any compensation, whatsoever;

And whereas upon the supersession of the Council and until a new Council is reconstituted, a Board of Governors is required to be constituted by the Central Government to exercise the powers and perform the functions of the Council under the said Act;

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (4) of section 3A of the Indian Medical Council (Amendment) Ordinance, 2018, the Central Government hereby constitutes the Board of Governors consisting of the following persons as its Chairperson and Members, namely: -

Dr. VK Paul, Member, NITI Aayog                                      - Chairman
Dr Randeep Guleria, Director, AIIMS, New Delhi               - Member
Dr Jagat Ram, Director, PGIMER, Chandigarh                     - Member
Dr BN Gangadhar, Director NIMHANS, Bangalore             - Member
Dr Nikhil Tandon, Professsor, Department of                        - Member
Endocrinology & Metabolism, AIIMS, New Delhi
Dr S Venkatesh, Director General of Health Services            - Member ex-officio
Ministry of Health & Family Welfare
Prof Balram Bhargava, Secretary, Department of Health       - Member ex-officio
Research & Director General Indian Council of Medical
Research, New Delhi

Further, in exercise of the powers conferred under section 7A of the Indian Medical Council (Amendment) Ordinance, 2018, the Central Government hereby appoint the Secretary General to assist the Board of Governors to the following person, namely:-

Dr Sanjay Shrivastava, Ex-Deputy Director General, Directorate General of Health Services, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, New Delhi

Dr KK Aggarwal
Padma Shri Awardee
President Elect Confederation of Medical Associations in Asia and Oceania   (CMAAO)
Group Editor-in-Chief IJCP Publications
President Heart Care Foundation of India
Immediate Past National President IMA

No comments:

Post a Comment